Skip to main content

Professional Highlights from the 517 Region – August 2023

Future Leader Takes Top Prize at STEAM Expo 

Shawna Wesley
Shawna Wesley

Shawna Wesley, an 8-year-old third grade student at Wilcox Elementary School in Holt, was selected as the grand-prize winner in the first STEAM Expo. 

Wesley won an iPad Air and scholarship to the Little Leaders Camp. Students ages 7-17 were eligible to enter their projects in the event celebrating science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics. The event was presented by Advancement Corp. and the 517 Hope Leadership Development Project. 

Wesley entered the math category with a fraction garden that she made to practice fractions and the engineering category with a shavings catcher she made with a 3D pen to create a base for a pencil sharpener to catch the shavings.  


MSUFCU Receives CMPRSA PACE Pinnacle Award 

Michigan State University Federal Credit Union received a 2023 Central Michigan Public Relations Society of America PACE Pinnacle Award for its 2023 Open Enrollment Guide. 

Held annually, the CMPRSA PACE Awards are a mid-Michigan recognition of public relations efforts and are awarded to public relations practitioners who, in the judgment of their peers, have successfully addressed a contemporary issue with exemplary professional skill, creativity and resourcefulness.  

“We are honored to receive this award,” said Silvia Dimma, MSUFCU chief human resources officer. “This recognition is a reflection of our commitment to empowering our employees with the necessary tools, resources and compensation to do their best work. We continue to work together to build a culture and work environment that we all want to and are proud to be a part of.” 

Greater Lansing Area Club Executive Officers Sworn In 

Greater Lansing Area Club Officers

Five members of the community took their oaths June 14 at Lansing City Hall for the 2023-2025 executive committee officer positions of the Greater Lansing Area Club within the National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Clubs Inc. 

The officers are Renee Morgan Freeman, president; ReShane Lonzo, financial secretary; Lural Baltimore, recording secretary; Sharon Civils, first vice president; and Dr. Surae Eaton, treasurer. The oath of installation was performed by Judge Kristen D. Simmons.  


To view the rest of our notable news content, become a subscriber.